MSCR Alumnus Recognized for Advancing Diversity in Healthcare

Dr. Bruce Ovbiagele
Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, FAAN
April 25, 2024

Dr. Bruce Ovbiagele, associate dean and professor of neurology at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), has been honored with the prestigious W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion by the American College of Physicians. This esteemed accolade is a testament to Dr. Ovbiagele's unwavering commitment to fostering diversity and equity within the healthcare landscape.

Alongside his medical degree from the University of Lagos, Dr. Ovbiagele holds four master’s degrees, including one in clinical research from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), through the MSCR MD/MS Program. This program, designed for physician scientists interested in clinical research or biomedical informatics, equips its graduates with the skills and knowledge necessary to navigate the complexities of modern healthcare.

Over the past six years at UCSF, Dr. Ovbiagele has not only excelled in his roles as an educator and researcher but has also served as a beacon of change. His tenure includes teaching and conducting groundbreaking research at the university’s Weill Institute for Neurosciences, as well as assuming the pivotal role of chief of staff for the San Francisco Veterans Health System. Prior to his tenure at UCSF, he held esteemed positions such as the Pihl Professor of neuroscience and chair of the department of neurology at the Medical University of South Carolina.

A central focus of Dr. Ovbiagele's academic career has been the eradication of local and global stroke disparities. His research endeavors have not only advanced our understanding of stroke prevention and treatment but have also underscored the importance of addressing healthcare inequities that disproportionately affect marginalized communities. Moreover, Dr. Ovbiagele has been a dedicated mentor, providing guidance and support to medical students and researchers from underrepresented backgrounds, thereby paving the way for a more diverse and inclusive future in healthcare.

Dr. Ovbiagele's receipt of the W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is a well-deserved recognition of his tireless efforts in championing diversity and equity in healthcare. His exemplary leadership, dedication to research, and commitment to mentorship serve as an inspiration to his peers and future generations of healthcare professionals alike. As we celebrate Dr. Ovbiagele's achievements, we are reminded of the transformative power of diversity and inclusion in shaping a more equitable and accessible healthcare system for all.


Share to